top of page

Learn more about giftedness and high sensitivity 

équilibrage

I- "gifted" children and adults :

 

Even if from one gifted person to another, there can be huge differences, let's try to outline the main lines:

 

*one of the facets of a gifted person is his/her intensity of

thinking: information reaches the brain quickly, circulates quickly and he/she has an excellent memory. We often talk about the arborescent way of thinking because the gifted person has a dazzling way of thinking, he/she is able to see a problem from many different angles. He/she has a great ability to make connections between his/her ideas. It is an extraordinary asset but often this characteristic can be difficult to live because the "bubbling brain" never stops. This can be a source of anxiety in both children and adults.

A few easily identifiable signs: incessant questioning, perpetual negotiations, refusal to ask for help, ears hanging around everywhere, an opinion on everything, interests that are out of the standards in comparison with children of the same biological age, etc.

.

*another facet of the gifted person is his/her sensitivity or high sensitivity (see the topo on the highly sensitive people). In other words, he/she  is permeable with his/her 5 senses to everything that is happening in his/her environment. It is an extraordinary quality to apprehend the world because the gifted person sees what others do not see, hears what others do not hear, smells what others do not smell etc...

Once again the gifted person can also be confronted with difficulties because he/she can be thin-skinned and overreact to the slightest stimulus. It happens that some children cut themselves off from their sensitivity because it has become too heavy. Sometimes if this sensitivity is predominant we will speak more precisely of emotionnally giftedness.

*giftedness is not a disease or a problem in itself but it is the discrepancies and misunderstandings with the outside that make an overefficient person suffer. It will be noted that malaise often develops in the form of provocation in boys, whereas a little girl will tend to withdraw and practice various forms of self-sabotage, even if once again there is no  typical profile and it is important to know that the same problem will be managed differently depending on the profile of the person.

The gifted person needs to feel understood, accepted and recognized both in his/her intellectual needs and his/her relational, emotional & social needs.

This is why it is better to identify them early in order to be able to put in place arrangements and assistance in the event that their profile requires it.
It will be much easier to help a young gifted child, before the problems are installed in the long term and the self-esteem too damaged, than a gifted teenager who has never learned to work on him/her.

Terminology has evolved over time in France :

In the 2000s ,in France we spoke of the "surdoués" , with all the clichés that the word can convey. "Precocous  children" was another expression that could be heard.Here we imply that the child is ahead of his age but it will  no longer be seen once an adult, which is obviously false) and then the psychologist Jeanne Siaud Facchin began to use the nickname "zebra", first because each zebra has its own stripes, then because nobody has never been able to domesticate a zebra and then finally because the French language already uses it to designate someone who is not very ordinary.

For my part, I prefer the expression created by the British Francis Galton in 1869, namely "gifted children". This means that these children have received a gift, a special gift. It is therefore important to be aware of this in order to best develop his/her potential.

However, to be understood by all on the French page , I  used the words in use in France.

How to have confirmation that you are gifted or that it is the case for one of your children?

If you have read any literature on the subject, you already have an intuition. It is often very useful to take a test in order to be really sure. The test often makes it possible to better understand one's own psychological functioning or that of one's children. After the result, it's often like putting on new glasses that allow you to see differently what was there from the start. For example, it happens that the psychologist who gives you the test comes to explain your difficulties at school in the past, your perpetual feeling of being misunderstood, your high sensitivity, etc.).

This also allows some to get rid of the famous "imposter syndrome", namely the one who never feels legitimate and who never accepts compliments for example.

Finally, if you pass the adult test, you will be better able to understand your functioning and possibly spot the signs in your children. Indeed there is often a genetic data.

There are several tests: the WISC, the WAIS and the Binet which can range from 150 to 600 euros.

It is best not to inquire too much about the content beforehand since it is important to respond spontaneously. These tests assess a combination of intellectual procedures:

to know

- verbal comprehension, the ability to communicate

-perceptual reasoning, i.e. the way we locate ourselves in space

- the ability to memorize information

-processing speed

The test will allow you to obtain your IQ (intelligence quotient) but the psychologists who give you the test also analyze the emotional and affective dynamics

Homme senior

II- High sensitivity

As the high sensitive person is hyperstimulated, he/she saturates more quickly and therefore often has greater fatigue. It may happen that some high sensitive people cut themselves off from their sensitivity because it is too heavy to bear or because they prefer adapt and conform to others.

Our society leaves little room for sensitivity. It advocates virtual growth, productivism at work. We identify with computers and programs because we are afraid of our sensitivity.

Despite advances in education, a boy is always taught from childhood, for example, that he should not cry and then he is reproached as an adult for not expressing his emotions and for becoming full of anger and violence.

If someone dies, we can be sad but not too strong and not for too long...

But if we work on emotions, they can really become a strength. High sensitivity is a form of intelligence since it goes through the body to interact with the world. The more we develop our sensitivity, the more we develop our intelligence.

 

Studies have shown that child musicians are more gifted in languages or math. Other studies have shown that elderly people with Alzheimer's who devote themselves to singing, dancing or pottery, redevelop cognitive abilities.

bottom of page

top of page

En savoir plus sur le HPI et l'hypersensibilité 

équilibrage

I- Le HPI :

 

Même si d'une personne HPI à une autre, il peut y avoir d'énormes différences, essayons de dessiner quelques grandes lignes:

 

*une des facettes du HPI est son intensité de

pensée : les informations arrivent vite au cerveau, circulent vite et il/elle a une excellente mémoire. On parle souvent de pensée en arborescence car le zèbre a une façon de pensée fulgurante, il/elle est capable de voir un problème sous plein d'angles différents. Il/elle a grande capacité à faire du lien entre ses idées. C'est un atout extraordinaire mais souvent cette caractéristique peut être difficile à vivre car la "machine à idées" ne s'arrête jamais. Cela peut être source d'angoisse chez l'enfant comme chez l'adulte.

Quelques signes repérables facilement: des questionnements incessants, les perpétuelles négociations, le refus de demander de l'aide, des oreilles qui traînent partout, un avis sur tout, des centres d'intérêt hors norme par rapport à l'âge biologique, etc.

.

*une autre facette du HPI est sa sensibilité ou son ultrasensibilité (cf le topo sur les hypersensibles). En d'autres termes il/elle est perméable avec ses 5 sens à tout ce qui se joue dans son environnement. C'est une qualité extraordinaire pour appréhender le monde car le zèbre voit ce que les autres ne voient pas , entend ce que les autres n'entendent pas, sentent ce que les autes ne sentent pas etc...

Encore une fois le zèbre peut aussi être confronté à des difficultés car il/elle peut être à fleur de peau et surréagir au moindre stimulus.Il arrive que certains enfants se coupent de leur sensibilité parce-qu'elle est devenue trop pesante. Parfois si cette sensibilité est prédominente on parlera plus de HPE (haut potentiel émotionnel ) que de HPI.

*la douance n'est pas une maladie ou un problème en soi mais ce sont les décalages et les incompréhensions avec l'extérieur qui font souffrir

une personne surefficiente.

On notera que le mal-être se développe souvent sous forme de provocation chez le garçon alors qu'une petite fille aura tendance à s'effacer et à pratiquer diverses formes d'auto-sabotage, même si encore une fois il n'y a pas de profil type et c'est important de savoir qu'une même problématique sera gérée différemment selon le profil du zèbre.

Les atypiques ont besoin de se sentir compris, acceptés et reconnus tant dans leurs besoin intellectuels que leurs besoins relationnels, émotionnels & sociaux.

C'est pourquoi il vaut mieux les identifier tôt afin de pouvoir mettre en place des aménagements et des aides dans le cas où leur profil le nécessite.


Il sera bien plus facile d'aider un jeune enfant HPI, avant que les problèmes ne soient

installés dans la durée et l'estime de soi trop endommagée, plutôt qu'un HPI(e) adolescent(e) n'ayant jamais appris à travailler sur lui.

La terminologie a évolué dans le temps:

Dans les années 2000 on parlait de surdoué, avec tous les clichés que le mot peut véhiculer Il a aussi été question des EIP (enfants intellectuellement précoces) mais on sous-entend ici que l'enfant est en avance sur son âge mais que cela ne se verra plus une fois adulte, ce qui est faux bien évidemment )et puis la psychologue Jeanne Siaud Facchin a commencé à utiliser le surnom de "zèbre", d'abord parce-que chaque zèbre a ses propres rayures, ensuite parce-que personne n'a jamais pu domestiquer un zèbre et puis enfin car la langue française l'utilise déjà pour désigner quelqu'un de peu banal.

De mon côté je préfère l'expression créée par le britannique Francis Galton en 1869, à savoir "gifted children". Cela signifie que ces enfants ont reçu un don, un cadeau particulier. Il est donc important d'en être conscient afin de développer au mieux son potentiel.

Cependant pour être comprise par tous, j'utiliserai les mots en usage en France.

Comment avoir la confirmation que vous êtes HPI ou que c'est le cas pour l'un de vos enfants?

Si vous avez lu un peu de littérature sur le sujet, vous avez déjà une intuition. Il est souvent fort utile de passer un test afin d'être vraiment sûr. Le test permet souvent de mieux comprendre son propre fonctionnement psychique ou celui de ses enfants. Après le résultat, c'est souvent comme si vous mettiez de nouvelles lunettes qui vous permettent de voir différemment ce qui étaient là depuis le début. Par exemple il arrive que le psychologue qui vous fait passer le test vienne ainsi expliquer vos difficultés à l'école autrefois, votre sentiment perpetuel d'être incompris, votre hypersensibilité etc...).

Cela permet aussi à certains de se débarrasser du fameux "syndrôme de l'imposteur", à savoir celui qui ne se sent jamais légitime et qui n'accepte jamais les compliments par exemple.

Enfin si vous passez le test adulte, vous serez plus à même de comprendre votre fonctionnement et éventuellement de repérer les signes chez vos enfants. En effet il y a souvent une donnée génétique.

Il existe plusieurs tests : le WISC , le WAIS et le Binet pouvant aller de 150 à 600 euros.

Il est préférable de ne pas trop se renseigner au préalable sur le contenu puisqu'il est important de répondre spontanément. Ces tests évaluent une combinaison de procédures intellectuelles:

à savoir

-la compréhension vérbale, soit la capacité à communiquer

-le raisonnement perceptif, c'est à dire la façon dont on se repère dans l'espace

-la capacité à mémoriser les informations

-la vitesse de traitement

Le test permettra d'obtenir votre QI (quotient intellectuel) mais les psychologues qui vous font passer le test analysent également la dynamique émotionnelle et affective

Homme senior

II- L'hypersensibilité

Comme l'hypersensible est hyperstimulé,il/elle sature plus vite et présente donc souvent une plus grande fatigabilité.. Il peut arriver que certains hypersensibles se coupent de leur sensibilité parce-que c'est trop lourd à porter ou parce-qu'ils préfèrent s'adapter et se conformer aux autres.

Notre société laisse peu de place à la sensibilité. Elle prône la croissance virtuelle, le productivisme au travail. Nous nous identifions aux ordinateurs et aux programmes car nous avons peur de notre sensibilité.

Malgré les avancées en éducation, on inculque toujours dès l'enfance à un garçon par exemple qu'il ne doit pas pleurer et puis on lui reproche une fois adulte de ne pas exprimer ses émotions et de devenir plein de colère et de violence.

Si quelqu'un meurt, on peut être triste mais pas trop fort et pas trop longtemps...

Or si on travaille sur les émotions, elles peuvent vraiment devenir une force. L'hypersensibilité est une forme d'intelligence puisqu'elle passe par le corps pour interagir avec le monde. Plus on développe notre sensibilité, plus on développe notre intelligence.

 

Des études ont prouvé que des enfants musiciens étaient plus doués en langues ou en maths. D'autres études ont prouvé que des personnes agées atteintes d'Alzheimer s'adonnant au chant, à la danse ou à la poterie, redéveloppaient des capacités cognitives

bottom of page